Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!
The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced its 2008 winners


ISC is now accepting entries for 2009
Cick here to enter

New judges added this year:
Steve Winwood, Robbie Williams, Kings of Leon,
Jeff Beck, Alejandro Sanz, Jeffrey Steele, Sasha, Snow Patrol, and more!
The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) has announced its 2008 winners, including the winners in the Blues category.

ISC received over 15,500 songs from amateur and professional songwriters from 100 countries worldwide The 2008 Grand Prize is awarded to Kate Miller-Heidke and Keir Nuttall of Brisbane, QLD, Australia, for their song "Caught In The Crowd," a Pop song with an emotional message about schoolyard bullying and peer pressure.

The Blues category was judged by Bluesmen John Mayall and James Cotton, as well as Bruce Iglauer, founder of Alligator Records.

Candace Avery, Founder and Director of ISC, says, "As always, the entries in the Blues category this year represented a wide array of styles, from traditional to contemporary, and is a direct result of Blues artists exploring all aspects of the Blues. It is such a privilege to be able to hear so many amazing songs every year from so many talented songwriters."

Winning First Place in the Blues category is Darren Watson (Auckland, New Zealand) for his song "All Going Wrong." Watson is a singer-songwriter from Wellington, New Zealand, who has been performing his unique brand of Blues since 1985. He led the 1980’s New Zealand Blues band Smoke Shop. Several of the band's singles, penned by Watson, made it into the New Zealand Pop charts.

Uros Peric of Celje, Slovenia, was awarded Second Place for his song, "U.P. Down Blues." Peric is a young Slovenian musician (piano, vocal), songwriter, and composer. He has released four albums, two with Click Records (Germany) and two with RTV Slovenia.

Third Place honors are claimed by Chris James and Patrick Rynn of Chicago, Illinois, for their song "Mister Coffee." BluesWax readers are aware of James and Rynn as longtime leaders of their own band, The Blue Four. They were nominated by the Blues Foundation for a 2009 Blues Music Award in the category of "Best New Artist Debut" for the CD Stop and Think About It on Earwig Records.

In addition to these winners, 12 other Blues songs garnered an Honorable Mention in the category:

"Black Dog" - Mickey Pantelous - Athens, Greece
"Blind Man" - Thessex Johns (Johnny Drummer) - Chicago, Illinois
"Falling" - Garry Meziere (Ellen Whyte) - Oregon City, Oregon
"Get Up (Raise Your Head)" - Marshall Okell, Mathew Cummings (Marshall & The Fro) - Byron Bay, NSW, Australia
"I Pray Most Everyday" Gina Sicilia - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
"I Wish You Well" - Sam McClain, Pat Herlehy (Mighty Sam McClain) - Newmarket, New Hampshire
"Looking the World Straight In The Eye" -JW-Jones (J. Wynne-Jones) - Ottawa, Ontario
"My Blues Keep Bringin' Me Home" - Dalannah Gail Bowen, Michael Creber - Vancouver, British Columbia
"Natural Condition" - Karl Francis Morgan - Perth, Western Australia
"Reason To Stay" - Carole Fredericks, Gildas Arzel - Canandaigua, New York
"Somebody Else's But Mine" - Bob Tunnoch (Fathead) - Toronto, Ontario
"Trapped" - Dorothy Ellis (Miss Blues) - Norman, Oklahoma

 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy