Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!

'Cornbread'By Cornbread

Big George Brock & The Houserockers – Club CaravanBig George Brock & The Houserockers – Club Caravan
{2005 | Cat Head Delta Blues & Folk Art}

Club Caravan is electrified Delta blues by 73-year-old, Big George Brock. Big George was born in Grenada, Mississippi on May 16, 1932. On this CD Big George covers the harp and vocals, and the Riley Coatie (guitar) family blues band add backing (Tekora on bass, Latasha on keys and Riliy Jr. on drums)... recorded at Jimbo Mathus' studio in historic Clarksdale, Mississippi on May 7, 2005.

Growing up in Mississippi, Brock worked in the cotton fields during the week and played blues and boxed on the weekends.

St. Louis’ own BBs Jazz Blues and Soups will host the CD release party for Club Caravan on Thursday, September 22, 2005 at 9:30 pm.

Twelve tracks as a result of 3 ½ hours in the studio.

1. Houserocker Boogie – blues harp, a bit of drum and what sounds like an upright bass.

2. Call Me A Lover – an Albert King like shuffle with distorted vocals, in a live muted recording.

3. Little Baby – by Willie Dixon, a great blues tune.

4. M For Mississippi – mostly harp and vocals, flashback sixty years to Mississippi.

5. Honest I Do – an excellent track that combines the good old fifties with blues. Great harmonica.

6. All Night Long – the guitar and bass seemed like a blues jam session backing Delta vocals/song. The harmonica helped bridge the two.

7. Nine Below Zero – while this was done by Muddy it sure reminded me of him.

8. Hard Times – cool acoustic guitar and vocals, now that’s old school Delta blues.

9. Club Caravan – the title track is a slow burnin’ lectric blues guitar instrumental gem.

10. Louisiana Blues – song originally by Muddy, great vocals.

11. Too Young – slow, tasteful harmonica blowin’ and soulful singing full of mojo.

12. Down South – much like track 7, I had Muddy flashbacks.

This CD captures old school, raw live recordings you’d expect in a juke joint. Nothin’ real fancy hear, just plain ol’ fashioned blues. I’d have to bet it was done with two-track and no tricks, smoke or mirrors. It’s a bit delta and bit Chicago guitar at times. The tracks I liked the best 3, 5, 7, 8, 10 and 11.

Buy this CD!

Ciao' for now, peace.
Peter 'Cornbread' Cohen, CBP
~ Cornbread@STLBlues.net

The STLBluesometer
Enjoy our Blues reviews
STLBlues CD Reviews :: By band/artist first name
St. Louis based bands & musicians
More National Bands
 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy