Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!
Canada's 13th Annual Maple Blues Awards Nominations Announced

The 2009 Blues Blast Music Awards Canada’s 13th Annual Maple Blues Awards Nominations Announced Nominees from across Canada have been announced for the 13th Annual Maple Blues Awards. The Maple Blues Awards is Canada’s national Blues awards program. Its goal is to promote Blues music across Canada, and to recognize outstanding achievement in the field.

Voting opened Friday, October 30th and is open to Sunday, December 13th at noon (EDT). Blues fans cast their votes online, at www.mapleblues.ca.

Ottawa’s Monkey Junk received six nominations and Vancouver’s The Twisters received five. Swamp Boogie-band Monkey Junk received nods in the Entertainer of the Year, Electric Act of the Year, and Recording of the Year, for their record Tiger In Your Tank, categories as well as Male Vocalist of the Year and Harmonica Player of the Year for Steve Marriner and Guitar Player of the Year for Tony D. The Twisters are nominated for Electric Act of the Year, Recording of the Year for Come Out Swingin’, Harmonica Player of the Year for David Hoerl, Keith Picot for Bass Player of the Year, and Songwriter of the Year for Brandon Isaak.

Close behind is Hamilton, Ontario’s Harrison Kennedy receiving four nominations for Acoustic Act of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, and Recording of the Year for his record, One Dog Barkin’.

Toronto Blues SocietyDownchild and its respective members have earned four nominations between them. Whitby’s local guitar slinger Jack de Keyzer has received three nominations including Guitarist of the Year. Toronto’s Paul Reddick received three nominations including Recording of the Year for Sugarbird. From Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Garrett Mason has picked up two nominations for Electric Act of the Year and Guitarist of the Year. Easley, Stevenson, Arsenaul from Nova Scotia have picked up nominations for Bassist of the Year, Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year, and Drummer of the Year, respectively.

New Artist of the Year nominees include Toronto’s Blackburn, Montreal’s Blues Delight, Quebec City’s Clio & The Blues Highway, Fredericton’s Ross Neilsen, and Toronto’s Scott McCord & The Bonafide Truth.

This year's winners will be announced at the 13th Annual Maple Blues Awards Gala in Toronto, on January 18, 2010 at Koerner Hall in Toronto. The evening is Canada's national annual celebration of homegrown Blues talent. It's also a night of music by the Maple Blues Band, comprised entirely of Maple Blues Awards winners and nominees.


Entertainer Of The Year: Downchild, Jack de Keyzer, Little Miss Higgins, Monkey Junk, Shakura S’Aida

Electric Act Of The Year: David Gogo, Garrett Mason, Jack de Keyzer, Monkey Junk, The Twisters

Acoustic Act Of The Year: Big Dave McLean, Braithwaite & Whiteley, Harrison Kennedy, Harry Manx, Julian Fauth

Male Vocalist Of The Year: Harrison Kennedy, Jim Byrnes, John Mays (Fathead, Maple Blues Revue), Paul Reddick, Steve Marriner (Monkey Junk)

Female Vocalist Of The Year: Jolene “Little Miss” Higgins, Roxanne Potvin, Shakura, S’Aida, Suzie Vinnick, Treasa Levasseur

New Artist/Group Of The Year:
Blackburn, Blues Delight, Clio & The Blues Highway, Ross Neilsen, Scott McCord & The Bonafide Truth

Recording Of The Year: Come Out Swingin' (NorthernBlues), The Twisters, Producers: Chris & Brandon Isaak; One Dog Barkin’ (Electro-Fi), Harrison Kennedy, Producer: Harrison Kennedy; Songs From The Road (Stony Plain), Jeff Healey, Producer: Alec Fraser; SugarBird (NorthernBlues), Paul Reddick, Producer: Colin Linden: Tiger In Your Tank (Beefy), Monkey Junk, Producers: Steve Marriner and Monkey Junk

Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement):
Alec Fraser, Chris Whiteley, Danny Brooks, Ellen McIlwaine, Joe Murphy, Ken Whiteley, Michael Fonfara, Paul James, Terry Wilkins, Tom Lavin

BB King International Artist Of The Year:
John Mayall, Maria Muldaur, Taj Mahal, Tommy Castro, Watermelon Slim

Guitarist Of The Year:
Garrett Mason, Jack De Keyzer, Steve Dawson (Jim Byrnes), Steve Strongman, Tony D (Monkey Junk)

Harmonica Player Of The Year: Carlos del Junco, David Hoerl(The Twisters<), David Rotundo, Jerome Godboo, Steve Marriner (Monkey Junk)

Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year: Bill Stevenson (Easley Stevenson Arsenault), Julian Fauth, Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne, Lance Anderson, Michael Fonfara (Downchild, Maple Blues Revue)

Horn Player Of The Year: Al Lerman (Fathead, Maple Blues Revue), Chris Murphy (Maple Blues Revue), Chris Whiteley (Maple Blues Revue), Johnny Ferreira, Pat Carey (Downchild, Maple Blues Revue)

Drummer Of The Year: Al Cross, Bucky Berger (Fathead), Chris Nordquist, Geoff Arsenault (Easley Stevenson Arsenault), Tom Bona (Raoul & The Big Time, Maple Blues Revue)

Bassist Of The Year: Alan Duffy (Jack De Keyzer), Alec Fraser (Broken Joe, Jeff Healey), Gary Kendall (Downchild, Maple Blues Revue, Gary Kendall Band), Keith Picot (The Twisters), Tom Easley (Easley Stevenson Arsenault)

Songwriter Of The Year:
Brandon Isaak (The Twisters), Chris Whiteley & Diana Braithwaite, Harrison Kennedy, Paul Reddick, Treasa Levasseur

 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy