Home of the Live Music Calendar Follow STLBlues on Twitter Follow STLBlues on Facebook Home of the Live Music Calendar Live Music Is Better, Book It Here!! Live music is better, book yours now!
Blues Blast Music Award Winners Announced

The 2009 Blues Blast Music Awards
The 2009 Blues Blast Music Awards held at Buddy Guy's Legends in Chicago on October 29 presented the following awards:

Best Contemporary Blues Recording
The Insomniacs - At Least I’m Not With You (Slim's review)
Nominees included: John Nemeth - Love Me Tonight, Nick Moss - Live at Chan’s Vol 2, Curtis Salgado - Clean Getaway, Janiva Magness - What Love Will Do, and Shemekia Copeland - Never going Back

Best Traditional Blues Recording
Various Artists - Chicago Blues: A Living History (w/Billy Boy Arnold, John Primer, Billy Branch and Lurrie Bell)
Nominees included: Guy Davis - Sweetheart Like You, John Primer - All Original, The Mannish Boys - Lowdown Feelin, Shirley Johnson - Blues Attack, and B.B. King - One Kind Favor

Best Blues Song
Albert Castiglia - "Bad Year Blues”
Nominees included: The Insomniacs -"At Least I'm Not With You,” Chris James & Patrick Rynn - "Mr. Coffee,” Curtis Salgado - "20 Years of B.B. King,” Kenny Neal - "Let Life Flow,” and B.B. King - "See That My Grave is Kept Clean"

Best Blues Band
Nick Moss and The Flip Tops
Nominees included: Lil Ed And The Blues Imperials, Kilborn Alley Blues Band, The Mannish Boys, The Insomniacs, and Watermelon Slim, and The Workers

Best Male Artist
Elvin Bishop
Nominees included: John Primer, Bobby Jones, Lurrie Bell, Nick Moss, and John Nemeth.

Best Female Artist
Robin Rogers
Nominees included Shirley Johnson, Diunna Greenleaf, Shemekia Copeland, Eden Brent, and Janiva Magness.

Best New Artist Debut Recording
Chris James & Patrick Rynn - Stop & Think About It
Nominees included Joanne Shaw Taylor - White Sugar, Dave Herrero - Austin To Chicago, Cedric Burnside & Lightnin' Malcolm - 2 Man Wrecking Crew, Guy King - Livin It, and Eden Brent - Mississippi Number One

Sean Costello Rising Star Award
Kilborn Alley Blues Band

Nominees included: Joanne Shaw Taylor, Albert Castiglia, Dave Gross, Cedric Burnside & Lightnin' Malcolm, and Eden Brent

 Live Music Calendar | Send Blues News | © STLBlues 2000 | Privacy Policy